HomeWatch OrderOne Piece Watch Order

One Piece Watch Order

The longest-running anime of all time ( and it is still going on), One Piece is no slave to petty introductions. Even for non-anime watchers, One Piece is something they are aware of. With around 1000 episodes, One Piece went under production in 1999 and is still going on strong. So, the problem is how to watch One Piece? I mean, overlooking the number of TV series episodes, One Piece still has a long list of movies, OVAs, and specials.

So, today we are here with a little solution to the problem- a simple watch guide for Luffy’s story! One Piece traces Monkey D. Luffy and his adventures as a pirate. The anime is based on the same name manga by Eiichiro Oda. The manga went underprint in 1997, and as of now, it is the best-selling manga of all time, with 480 million copies in circulation worldwide!

How To Watch One Piece?

one piece watch guide

The anime has around 980 episodes, but apart from that, there is a long list of OVAs, movies, and specials to be watched. One Piece has 15 movies, 7 OVAs, 4 shorts, and 13 specials. That is seriously a lot to watch. However, One Piece is divided into sets called ‘sagas.’ There are 9 sagas, and it is best to watch the show in the various sagas. To help with how to go about the anime, a recommended watch order is listed below:-

Also Read, One Piece Filler List

I. East Blue Saga

  1. Episodes 1 to 8- These episodes cover the Romance Dawn arc and Orange Town arc.
  2. Defeat Him! The Pirate Ganzack!- First OVA, watch this after episode 8
  3. Episodes 9-18- These episodes cover the Syrup Village Arc.
  4. One Piece: The Movie- This is the first movie of the franchise.
  5. Episodes 19-53- Baratie arc, Arlong Park, Loguetown, and Buggy’s Crew Adventure Chronicles arcs are featured.
  6. Clockwork Island Adventure- This is another One Piece movie that came out in 2001.
  7. One Piece TV Special: Adventure in the Ocean’s Navel- A TV special for One Piece
  8. Jango’s Dance Carnival- A short that came out in 2001.
  9. Episodes 54-61- Enjoy the Warship Island arc in these episodes.
  10. One Piece: Episode of East Blue: Luffy and His 4 Crewmates’ Big Adventure- This another special episode for One Piece.

II. Arabasta Saga

how to watch one piece
Monkey D. Luffy and crew (Image: CBR)
  1.  Episodes 62 to 91- These episodes cover several arcs from Reverse Mountain to Drum Island arc.
  2. Dream Soccer King- Another One Piece Short that debuted in 2002.
  3. Episodes 92-130- Follow the Arabasta arc in these episodes.
  4. The Desert Princess and the Pirates: Adventures in Alabasta- A 2007 release movie from the One Piece series.
  5. Chopper’s Kingdom on the Island of Strange Animals- Another movie from the franchise.
  6. Episodes 131-135- Post-Arabasta arc picks up here.

III. Sky Island Arc

  1. Episodes 136-138- Beginning of Goat Island arc.
  2. Dead End Adventure- A movie released in 2003.
  3. The Cursed Holy Sword- After Dead End Adventure, watch this 2004 movie.
  4. One Piece: Open Upon the Great Sea! A Father’s Huge, HUGE Dream- After the movie, you should watch this special episode.
  5. Take Aim! The Pirate Baseball King- A short episode released in 2004.
  6. Episodes 139 to 195- Beginning from the Ruluka Island arc, episode 195 concludes at Skypiea arc.
  7. One Piece: Episode of Sky Island- Another special episode that came out in 2018.
  8. Episodes 196-206- Find the G-8 arc in these episodes.
  9. Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island- After episode 206, watch this movie.

IV. Water 7 Saga

One Piece Watch Order Water 7 Saga

  1. Episodes 207-219- These episodes cover the Long Ring Long Land arc.
  2. One Piece: Protect! The Last Great Stage- After episode 219, watch this special episode.
  3. Episodes 220-228- Watch these episodes after the special.
  4. Giant Mecha Soldier of Karakuri Castle- Another movie that came out in 2006.
  5. Episodes 229-407- Find Water 7, Enies Lobby, Boss Luffy Historical Specials, and Post-Enies Lobby Arc in these episodes. I would not recommend you skip any of these episodes.
  6. Episode of Chopper Plus: Bloom in the Winter, Miracle Cherry Blossom- Watch this movie after episode 407.

V. Thriller Bark Saga

  1. Episode 326-384- These episodes fall between the Water 7 saga and cover the Ice Hunter, Chopper Man Special, Thriller Bark, and Spa Island arc. I would recommend that you watch episodes 229 to 407 in sequence.

VI. Summit War Saga

  1. Episode 385- 429- Cover these episodes, which feature around four essential arcs.
  2. One Piece Film: Strong World-  Up next, watch this movie.
  3. Straw Hat Chase- Watch this movie after Strong World.
  4. One Piece 3D! Trap Coaster- A 2011 release short, should be watched after Straw Hat Chase.
  5. Romance Dawn Story- An OVA which is a recommended watch after Trap Coaster.
  6. Episode 430-516- Watch these episodes after Romance Dawn OVA.
  7. 3D2Y- After episode 516, watch this special.

VII. Fish-Man Island Saga

  1. Episodes 517-522- Catch Return to Sabaody Arc in these episodes.
  2. Episode of Nami: Tears of a Navigator and the Bonds of Friends- After episode 522, watch this special.
  3. Episode 523-574- Three major arcs are covered in these episodes.

VIII. Dressrosa Saga

  1. Episodes 575-578- Pick up Dressrosa saga with these three episodes.
  2. Glorious Island Part 1 and Part 2- Up next, watch these two OVAs.
  3. One Piece Film: Z- Watch this movie after the Glorious Island OVAs.
  4. Episode of Luffy: Adventure on Hand Island- After film Z, watch this special episode.
  5. One Piece: Adventure of Nebulandia- Next, you should watch this special episode.
  6. Episode 579-625- Watch these episodes next.
  7. The Tale of One More Friend- A special episode that falls in line after episode 625.
  8. Episode 626-746- Caesar Retrieval and Dressrosa arcs are covered in these episodes.
  9. The Episode of Sabo: The Three Brothers’ Bond – The Miraculous Reunion and the Inherited Will- Watch this special episode next.

IX. Four Emperors Saga

  1. Episode 747-750- Pick up this saga with the Silver Mine arc.
  2. Heart of Gold- Another special episode that debuted in 2016.
  3. One Piece Film: Gold Episode 0- Next, you should watch this OVA.
  4. Gold- Next, watch the One Piece Gold movie.
  5. Episodes 751-959- Major arcs are covered in these episodes, so watch the next.
  6. One Piece: Stampede- Another movie of the franchise that came out in 2019. After watching this movie, pick up with the rest of the episodes.

Finally, all done! The above is the recommended watch order for One Piece, and I suggest you go about the show like this. If you want, you can skip the specials and OVAs if you want to save time, as most of them are not very important.

Where To Watch One Piece Online?

The longest-running and one of the biggest anime shows of all time, One Piece, is up for viewing on all major streaming platforms. Anime streamers like Crunchyroll and Funimation have licensed the show. Apart from these sites, you can find One Piece on Netflix and Amazon Prime as well.


Now, you can watch One Piece with the help of this recommended order. One Piece is, well, a must for pro-anime-watchers, but its length becomes a problem sometimes. I hope you have fun watching OP now and stay tuned for more anime news.

Tanishka Kashyap
Tanishka is a student at the University of Delhi with a keen interest in writing, art, and many other things. She is passionate about stories and loves all things anime and manga.

Most Popular